

August 19, 2009

Mr. Gary Loveman Chief Executive Office Harrah's Entertainment 1 Caesar Palace Drive Las Vegas, NV 89123

Dear Mr. Loveman:

Your egregious treatment of employees engaged in the legally protected right to bargain collectively has consequences. The American Federation of Teachers will not conduct business with any Harrah venue in the nation while you continue to stonewall in contract negotiations with UAW members in Atlantic City.

The AFT is the second largest union in the AFL-CIO. We have more than 1.4 million members nationwide with our greatest concentration in the Northeast. Atlantic City has been a favored destination for our members and their families. Las Vegas is another popular venue for our meetings. However, while this stalemate continues, we will be actively seeking alternate business relationships and facilities for upcoming conventions and meetings.

Cutting wages, hours and health benefits is no way to support the workforce that fuels your own success. On the contrary, these actions confirm your employees' need for representation by a strong union. In fact, your UAW-affiliated employees grow stronger every day, fully aware that you collect an executive compensation package which equals more than the amount required to do right by your employees.

We look forward to hearing of the fair resolution of a contract with the UAW Atlantic City dealers' union. Until that time, our policy is to take our meeting and convention business elsewhere.

Sincerely,

Randi Weingarten President

RW: cmk: cc opeiu#2 afl-cio

American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO

AFT Teachers AFT PSRP AFT Higher Education AFT Public Employees AFT Healthcare

555 New Jersey Ave. N.W. Washington, DC 20001 202/879-4400 www.aft.org

Randi Weingarten PRESIDENT

Antonia Cortese SECRETARY-TREASURER

Lorretta Johnson EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT

VICE PRESIDENTS

Shelvy Y. Abrams Mary J. Armstrong Barbara Bowen Linda Bridges Kenneth Brynien Elsie P. Burkhalter Stacey Caruso-Sharpe Kathy Chavez Lee Cutler Edward Doherty Kathleen M. Donahue Thomas A. Dooher Eric Feaver Andy Ford Ed Geppert, Jr. David Gray Judy Hale David Hecker Richard Iannuzzi Jerry T. Jordan Dennis Kelly Ted Kirsch Francine Lawrence Alan Lubin Louis Malfaro Merlene Martin Michael Mulgrew Maria Neira Ruby Newbold Candice Owley Sharon M. Palmer Marcia B. Reback Laura K. Rico Pat Santeramo Sandra Schroeder Phillip H. Smith Marilyn Stewart Ann Twomey Adam Urbanski Restantial