February 15, 2008

Certificate Types for Teachers and Teaching Assistants

Download: Complete Bulletin (60k pdf)

April 2006 marked the latest changes in New York State certification for teachers and teaching assistants, and it is no longer as simple as having provisional or permanent certification. Currently, there are no less than thirteen different types of certificates for teachers and five different types of certificates for teaching assistants. The following charts detail those certificates. It is important for members to know about their credential and the need to protect their career and livelihood by maintaining appropriate certification. Local leaders should be aware of the variety of certificate types and the purpose and validity of each certificate.

If you should have any questions about certification or these certificate types, please contact NYSUT Research and Educational Services.

Download: Complete Bulletin (60k pdf)
NYSUT Footer
Our Voice, Our Values, Our Union