November 04, 2019

Two NYSUT-endorsed teachers elected to TRS Board

Author: Ned Hoskin
Source:  NYSUT Communications
 nys trs 2019
Caption: NYSTRS Delegate Reception, Nov. 3, 2019 in Saratoga Springs. Left to right: NYSUT President Andy Pallotta, NYSUT Executive Vice President Jolene DiBrango, NYSTRS Board President and Retired Teacher Member David P. Keefe, NYSTRS Executive Director & Chief Investment Officer Thomas Lee, NYSUT Secretary-Treasurer J. Philippe Abraham, NYSTRS Teacher Member Beth Chetney, NYSTRS Teacher Member Sheila Sullivan Buck and NYSTRS Teacher Member Ronald Gross. Photo by Andrew Watson.

Delegates attending New York State Teachers’ Retirement System’s annual meeting unanimously elected teachers Sheila Sullivan Buck and Beth Chetney to the NYSTRS Board of Trustees.

Buck, who is president of Rush-Henrietta EA, has taught music at Rush-Henrietta Central Schools for more than 20 years. She was re-elected to a new three-year term as one of the three active teacher members on the board.

Chetney, an English teacher and president of the Baldwinsville TA, was elected to complete the term of Paul J. Farfaglia, who retired from teaching in June after a 35-year career. She was appointed to the TRS Board on an interim basis in July by then-State Education Commissioner MaryEllen Elia, but needed to be elected by the delegates to complete the one year remaining in the term.

Both Buck and Chetney were endorsed earlier this year by NYSUT’s Representative Assembly.

The third active teacher member on the TRS Board is William Floyd UT’s Ron Gross. Hempstead’s David Keefe, the board’s retired teacher member, also serves as Board president.