April 27, 2022

NYSUT issues round of endorsements in state and federal races

Source:  NYSUT Media Relations
Share This Article...

ALBANY, N.Y. April 27, 2022 — New York State United Teachers today issued endorsements in dozens of races — including a number of primary races — for state Senate and Assembly, and recommended congressional candidates for endorsements by the union’s national affiliates, the American Federation of Teachers and National Education Association.

“From Albany to Washington, we need representatives who will help us support public schools as the center of every community,” NYSUT President Andy Pallotta said. “We know that this slate of candidates understands the value of public education, from pre-K through post-grad, and will put our students, families and educators first in the halls of power. We stand with them in fighting to secure the resources necessary for schools to provide a high-quality, 21st century education and to enact the policies that help our students thrive academically, socially and emotionally.”

The full slate of state legislative endorsements and congressional endorsement recommendations can be found below.

NYSUT is scheduled to hold its biennial endorsement conference for federal and state offices this summer.

NYSUT-endorsed candidates receive grassroots support from NYSUT members, including phone banking, door knocking and literature distribution. The union also makes financial contributions from voluntary donations through the union’s VOTE-COPE non-partisan political action committee.

Congressional Endorsement Recommendations

Congressional District 1
Jackie Gordon

Congressional District 2
Andrew Garbarino

Congressional District 3
Robert Zimmerman

Congressional District 4
Laura Gillen

Congressional District 8
Hakeem Jeffries

Congressional District 10
Jerrold Nadler

Congressional District 11
Max Rose

Congressional District 12
Carolyn Maloney

Congressional District 13
Adriano Espaillat

Congressional District 16
Jamaal Bowman

State Senate Endorsements

Senate District 7
Anna Kaplan

Senate District 11
John Liu

Senate District 16
Toby Ann Stavisky

Senate District 17
Elizabeth Crowley

Senate District 23
Jessica Scarcella-Spanton

Senate District 25
Jabari Brisport

Senate District 29
Brian Kavanagh

Senate District 30
Brad Hoylman

Senate District 32
Cordell Cleare

Senate District 33
Robert Jackson

Senate District 35
Andrea Stewart-Cousins

Senate District 37
Shelley Mayer

Senate District 51
Jim Tedisco

Senate District 60
Sean Ryan

State Assembly Recommendations

Assembly District 4
Steve Englebright

Assembly District 24
David Weprin

Assembly District 25
Nily Rozic

Assembly District 28
Andrew Hevesi

Assembly District 29
Alicia Hyndman

Assembly District 32
Vivian Cook

Assembly District 33
Clyde Vanel

Assembly District 34
Jessica González-Rojas 

Assembly District 35
Jeffrion Aubry

Assembly District 38
Jennifer Rajkumar

Assembly District 40
Ron Kim

Assembly District 41
Helene Weinstein

Assembly District 42
Rodneyse Bichotte Hermelyn

Assembly District 43
Brian Cunningham

Assembly District 46
Mathylde Frontus

Assembly District 49
Peter Abbate

Assembly District 50
Emily Gallagher

Assembly District 51
Marcela Mitaynes

Assembly District 54
Erik Martin Dilan

Assembly District 55
Latrice Walker

Assembly District 57
Phara Souffrant Forrest

Assembly District 58
Monique Chandler-Waterman

Assembly District 59
Jaime Williams

Assembly District 60
Nikki Lucas

Assembly District 61
Charles Fall

Assembly District 65
Grace Lee

Assembly District 66
Deborah Glick

Assembly District 68
Eddie Gibbs

Assembly District 70
Inez Dickens

Assembly District 71
Al Taylor

Assembly District 72
Manny De Los Santos

Assembly District 73
Alex Bores

Assembly District 75
Tony Simone

Assembly District 76
Rebecca Seawright

Assembly District 78
Jose Rivera

Assembly District 79
Chantel Jackson

Assembly District 80
Nathalia Fernandez

Assembly District 81
Jeffrey Dinowitz

Assembly District 82
Michael Benedetto

Assembly District 83
Carl Heastie

Assembly District 84
Amanda Septimo

Assembly District 85
Kenny Burgos

Assembly District 86
Yudelka Tapia

Assembly District 87
Karines Reyes

Assembly District 89
Gary Pretlow

Assembly District 92
Tom Abinanti

Assembly District 95
Colin Smith

Assembly District 103
Kevin Cahill

Assembly District 111
Angelo Santabarbara

New York State United Teachers is a statewide union with more than 600,000 members in education, human services and health care. NYSUT is affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, the National Education Association and the AFL-CIO.


NYSUT Footer
Our Voice, Our Values, Our Union