February 2013 Issue
January 30, 2013

Teachers earn renewals for National Board Certification

Source: NYSUT United
Share This Article...

Forty-three teachers in New York successfully met the standards to renew their certificates for National Board Certification in 2012.

National Board Certified Teachers, or NBCTs, must renew their advanced teaching credential after 10 years to show their ongoing professional growth.

In order to renew National Board Certification, a teacher must complete the NBPTS Profile of Professional Growth prior to the expiration date of his or her certificate.

The profile must contain compelling evidence of the NBCT's professional growth linked to student learning since achieving certification.

Renewal candidates must begin the renewal process during their eighth or ninth year as NBCTs.

National Board Certification is achieved through a performance-based assessment that typically takes one to three years to complete.

While state licensing systems set basic requirements to teach in each state, National Board Certified Teachers have successfully demonstrated advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices. Many districts provide annual stipends to NBCTs, as well as leadership and mentoring opportunities.

The 43 teachers are:

Lisa Bennett (Victor TA); Michelle Berry (Wappingers CT); Christine Blake-Jeremias (Oceanside FT); Susan Bogdan-Ritty (Berne-Knox-Westerlo TA); Laura Brown (United Liverpool FA); Marie Campanero (Spencerport TA); Mary Ann Cleary (Elmira TA); Allison Cugini (United Federation of Teachers); Diane De Angelis Di Chiara (Wappingers CT); Mary Eads (Niskayuna TA); Sharon Eghigian (Utica TA); Rita Floess (Albany PSTA); Maura Fox (Saratoga Adirondack BOCES EA); Katherine Gagne (Penn Yan TA); Mary Jo Gavitt (Union Springs TA); Charles Hall (Rochester TA); Emilee Harris (unaffiliated);
David Hart (Fayetteville-Manlius TA); Richard Lasselle (Guilderland CTA); Tracy Maggio (Rochester TA); Kimberlee Mahusky (Wappingers CT); Janet Matthews (Mt. Pleasant TA); Kathleen Mcavoy (Mahopac TA); Judy Moffitt (South Glens Falls FA); Karen Monastero (Saratoga Adirondack BOCES EA); Beverly Moore (Kingston TF); Susan Moore-Palumbo (South Glens Falls FA); Lauren Nichols (Berlin TA); Sean O'Connell (Niskayuna TA); Kathryn Ottaviani (UFT); Michelle Sausa-Gatta (Niskayuna TA); Viola Schmid-Doyle (Canton CTA); Stacey Shepard (North Colonie TA); Ruth A. Shippee (Saratoga Adirondack BOCES EA); Catherine Snyder (Schenectady FT); Dolores Steeley (Niskayuna TA); Connie Steinbach Blair (Albany PSTA); Lisa Tamiso (West Genesee TA); Meredith Thompson (Pearl River TA); Susan Thorp-Dillon (Katonah-Lewisboro DI); Randal Tyner (Glens Falls TA); Rachelle Wolosoff (Shelter Island FA); and Joseph Zuniga (Rochester TA).

NYSUT Footer
Our Voice, Our Values, Our Union