May 2013 Issue
April 27, 2013

Locals in Action: Honoring members and locals for community service

Source: NYSUT United
Share This Article...
Untitled Document NYSUT annually rec­ognizes locals that have made a collective and sustained contribution to community service during the previous year. These efforts not only enhance the learning opportuni­ties of students, but also enrich the quality of life in those communities.

The following locals, listed along with the local president, were honored at the 2013 Representative Assembly:

Amityville Teachers Association - Robert Claps
Bay Shore Classroom TA - Darlene Darch
Bellmore-Merrick United Secondary Teachers - Michael Dolber
Bethpage Congress of Teachers - Karen Thomas
Carthage TA - Patricia Sheehan
Cassadaga Valley Faculty Association - Stephen Helwig
Cheektowaga Central TA - Jeffrey Kuemmel
Commack TA - Tris Stewart
Connetquot TA - Anthony Felicio Jr
East Hampton TA - Priscilla Campbell
Eden TA - Colleen Kot
Elwood Teachers Alliance - Lorelei Stephens
Erie 1 Professional Education Association - Joseph Borgisi
Faculty Association/Suffolk Community College - Ellen Schuler Mauk
Falconer EA - Michael LeBaron
Farmingdale Federation of Teachers - Claire Zatorski
Harrison Association of Teachers - Karen Magee
Hastings TA - Nate Morgan
Hewlett-Woodmere FA - Frederic Stark
Hicksville CT - Joan Deem
Island Park FA - Patricia Collins
Jericho TA - Ronald Verderber
Kenmore TA - Peter Stuhlmiller
Lake Shore Central TA - Michael Frew
Liberty FA - Timothy Hamblin
Lockport EA - Arlene Reese
Long Beach Classroom TA - Steve Freeman
Long Beach Schools Employees Association - William Snow
Lynbrook TA - Craig Kirchenberg
Malverne TA - Michelle Thomas
Marion TA - Michael Herlan
Massapequa FT - Tomia Smith
Middletown TA - Shelia Esposito
Mineola TA - Teresa Perrotta Hafner
Mohawk Valley Community College Professional Association - Alison Doughtie
Mount Sinai TA - Mitchell Wolman
Mount Vernon FT - Jeffrey Yonkers
Newark TA - Mary Daly
Niagara Falls Teachers - Edward Ceccato
Niagara Wheatfield TA - Kevin Rustowicz
North Babylon Teachers Organization - Selina Durio
North Bellmore TA - Randee Colter
North Syracuse EA - John Kuryla
Nyack TA - Donna Ramundo
Oceanside FT - Richard Roschelle
Ogdensburg EA - David Price
Pine Bush TA - Carla McLaud
Rochester TA - Adam Urbanski
Rockland BOCES Staff Association - Deborah Kydon
Sachem Central TA - John Troise
Spencerport TA - John Kozlowski
Sullivan County BOCES TA - Patrick McCarthy
Syosset TA - Kim Pritchard
Tonawanda EA - Ronald Sesnie
United College Employees of FIT - Roberta Elins
Wallkill TA - Donna Carr
Watertown EA - Dianne Loonan
West Hempstead EA - Barbara Hafner
West Irondequoit TA - Scott Steinberg
Western Suffolk BOCES FA - Ernest Lewis
Yonkers FT - Patricia Puleo
Yorktown CT - Sean Kennedy

New affiliates

NYSUT has scored several significant organizing victories over the past year. Here are the new units that were recog­nized at the RA:

Buffalo United Charter School
Carthage District Office Personnel Association
Clyde-Savannah Transportation Employees Organization
Greenburgh Teacher Aide Association
Mohawk Valley Community College Adjuncts and Part-time Staff
New Roots Charter School
New York French American Charter School (UFT)
Pinnacle Charter School
Phyllis L. Susser 853 School
Riverhead Library Pages
Sachem School Nurses
Sisulu Walker Charter School (UFT)
Teacher Aides at Brocton
Third Street School of Music Staff Association
Town of Oyster Bay Lifeguards
Tully TA – School Nurses & Counselors
Webster Central School Educational Support Association

NYSUT Footer
Our Voice, Our Values, Our Union