March-April 2018 Issue
March 08, 2018

RA delegates to weigh critical issues to preserve union s voice values

Source: NYSUT United

More than 1,500 delegates representing NYSUT members throughout New York State will gather in Buffalo to set the course of the union's future and strengthen its vibrant role in the labor movement.

Our voice union logo"We are facing unprecedented threats from wealthy special interests fighting to destroy our unions and the things we value. They've funded Janus v. AFSCME, a case before the U.S. Supreme Court that poses a direct threat to our voice, our values and our union," NYSUT President Andy Pallotta writes in a letter to delegates to the 2018 Representative Assembly.

Delegates will consider more than 40 resolutions that will direct the union to take actions that "will help preserve the strength of our union and the labor movement in New York," Pallotta says.

NYSUT's goal is to have 100 percent representation at the RA so every member's voice is heard. Delegates will also elect delegates and alternates to the National Education Association RA, and two NEA State Directors and two Alternate NEA State Directors.

Guest speakers so far include Attorney General Eric Schneiderman, state Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli, NYS AFL-CIO President Mario Cilento and American Federation of Teachers President Randi Weingarten. NYSUT officers will also address delegates.

Delegates, too, will recognize NYSUT members for excellence in their professions. This year's honorees are:

  • Christopher Albrecht, Brockport Teachers Association, 2018 NYS Teacher of the Year.
  • Margaret Dalton-Diakite, United Federation of Teachers and Stephen Rechner, Union of Clerical, Administrative & Technical Staff (UCATS), School-Related Professionals Members of the Year.
  • Mildred Glaberman, UFT, and Mel Stern, Retiree Council 20, Retiree Members of the Year.
  • Alicia Schwartz, UFT, Health Care Professional Member of the Year.
  • Bethany Gizzi, Faculty Association of Monroe County Community College, and Cynthia Eaton Tvelia, Faculty Association of Suffolk County Community College, Higher Education Members of the Year.

"Not for Ourselves Alone:" The Sandy Feldman Outstanding Leadership Award, recognizing lifetime achievement, will be presented to Anne Goldman, UFT, and Nadia Resnikoff, Middle Country Teachers Association, Inc.

Lori Griffin, Copenhagen TA, will receive the Sandy Feldman Leadership Grant. Additionally, the Ken Kurzweil Social Justice Recognition Awards and the Community Service Award recipients will also be honored.