March/April 2020 Issue
February 29, 2020

RA delegates to elect NYSUT leadership

Source: NYSUT United
RA 2020

Delegates and alternates, representing their union colleagues from across the state, will gather in Albany May 1–2 at the 2020 NYSUT Representative Assembly, the union’s annual policymaking convention.

Among their many tasks, RA delegates will elect NYSUT officers and all members of the union’s Board of Directors, including At- Large Directors and Election District Directors. (See candidate statements PDF. Member login required.) RA delegates will also elect delegates and alternates to the American Federation of Teachers convention.

Delegates will consider about 50 resolutions directing the union’s course on education, legislative priorities, health care and workplace safety, civil and human rights and retirement issues.

The annual RA also offers the union an opportunity to recognize the winners of the NYSUT constituency awards, including: 2020 New York State Teacher of the Year Rachel Murat, Maine- Endwell Teachers Association; School- Related Professionals Members of the Year Dorothy Kamps, United Federation of Teachers, and Cheryl Rockhill, Brushton-Moira Support Staff Association. Retiree Members of the Year are Donald Nobles, UFT, and Deb Peterson, NYSUT Retiree Council 43 (Teacher Retirees in Florida). Nancy Barth Miller, Federation of Nurses/UFT, is Health Care Professionals Member of the Year. Higher Education Members of the Year are Jamie Dangler, United University Professions, and Michael Fabricant, Professional Staff Congress. “Not for Ourselves Alone:” The Sandy Feldman Outstanding Leadership Award will be presented to former NYSUT Vice President Catalina Fortino, UFT, and Florence McCue, Yonkers Federation of Teachers.

The convention will also recognize winners of the union’s Ken Kurzweil Social Justice Awards and NYSUT Community Service Awards — both individual members and local unions. In addition, this year NYSUT will be presenting the Al Shanker Award for Distinguished Sevice — the union’s highest honor — to an indivdual who has made extraordinary contributions to education.

This is the second year the annual convention will be held in Albany. Before the RA, leaders from around the state will attend the Local and Retiree Council Presidents Conference.

Visit for more info.