Take Action!

take action

Tell State Education Commissioner MaryEllen Elia and members of the Board of Regents to support the edTPA Task Force’s proposals to fix the teacher certification exams and process mandated in 2014.

Tell them the current system is unfair and that the task force’s final recommendations, reached after months of collaboration and compromise, reflect a commitment to high, equitable and reasonable standards for entry into the teaching profession.

Email now, because the Board of Regents may take action on the issue at their Feb. 13-14 meeting.

Contact your district Regent, all four at-large Regents, and the commissioner and urge them to fix the flawed system that is discouraging prospective teachers from entering the profession.

A list of their email addresses appears below.

RESOURCES


CONTACT INFORMATION: COMMISSIONER AND REGENTS

Who should you contact?

  1. Your district Regent
  2. All four at-large Regents
  3. Commissioner Elia

**Higher Education Committee members

Commissioner
MaryEllen Elia
commissioner@nysed.gov

Chancellor
Betty A. Rosa
12th Judicial District, Bronx
Regents Office, State Education Building, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, N.Y. 12234
Regent.Rosa@nysed.gov

Vice Chancellor
**T. Andrew Brown Judicial District VII
Cayuga, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Yates
925 Crossroads Building, Two State Street Rochester, NY 14614
RegentBrown@mail.nysed.gov

**Kathleen M. Cashin, Judicial District II, Kings
Co-chair, Higher Education Committee
Regents Office, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234
Regent.Cashin@nysed.gov

**Christine D. Cea, Judicial District XIII, Richmond
NYS Institute for Basic Research in Developmental Disabilities
1050 Forest Hill Road, Staten Island, NY 10314
RegentCea@mail.nysed.gov

**Judith Chin, Judicial District XI, Queens
Regents Office, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234
Regent.Chin@nysed.gov

**Catherine Collins, Judicial District VIII
Co-chair, Higher Education Committee
Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming
508 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14202
Regent.Collins@nysed.gov

**James E. Cottrell, At Large
SUNY Downstate Medical Center, 450 Clarkson Avenue - Box 6, Brooklyn, N.Y. 11203-2098
Regent.Cottrell@nysed.gov

Josephine Victoria Finn, 3rd Judicial District
Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster
Regents Office, State Education Building, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234
Regent.Finn@nysed.gov

Elizabeth S. Hakanson, 5th Judicial District
Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego
Regents Office, State Education Building, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, N.Y. 12234
Regent.Hakanson@nysed.gov

**Judith Johnson, Judicial District IX, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland and Westchester
Regents Office, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234
Regent.Johnson@nysed.gov

Nan Eileen Mead, 1st Judicial District, New York County
89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234
Regent.Mead@nysed.gov

**Wade S. Norwood, At Large 74
Appleton Street Rochester, NY 14611
RegentNorwood@mail.nysed.gov

Beverly L. Ouderkirk, 4th Judicial District
Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, Saratoga, Schenectady, St Lawrence, Warren,
Washington
303 Main Street, Morristown, NY 13664
Regent.Ouderkirk@nysed.gov

**Luis O. Reyes, Member at Large
Regents Office, State Education Building, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, N.Y. 12234
Regent.Reyes@nysed.gov

James R. Tallon, Jr., 6th Judicial District
Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Otsego, Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins
United Hospital Fund, 1411 Broadway, 12th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10018
Regent.Tallon@nysed.gov

Roger Tilles,10th Judicial District, Nassau, Suffolk
Lorber Hall, Room 211 Long Island University Post, 720 Northern Boulevard, Brookville, NY 11548
Regent.Tilles@nysed.gov

**Lester W. Young, Jr., At Large
55 Hanson Place, Suite 400, Brooklyn, N.Y. 11217
Regent.Young@nysed.gov