NYSUT Communications |
Tuesday April 25 2023 1:57 PM

Delegates to celebrate member excellence

RA 2023 Honorees

Many NYSUT members have achieved special recognition for their work, both professionally and in their communities.

The RA will recognize the following members with awards:

  • “Not for Ourselves Alone:” The Sandy Feldman Outstanding Leadership Award, recognizing lifetime achievement, will be presented to Rowena Blackman-Stroud (posthumously), United University Professions, and Marilyn Manley, United Federation of Teachers.
  • The 2023 New York State Teacher of the Year is Billy Green, United Federation of Teachers.
  • School-Related Professionals Members of the Year are Renee Freeman, United Federation of Teachers, and Stacy Stoliker, Rhinebeck Association of Non-Instructional Employees.
  • Retiree Members of the Year are Howard Kasen, Retiree Council 14, and Nina Tribble, United Federation of Teachers.
  • Health Care Professionals Members of the Year are Mindy Heath, United University Professions, and Elvie Smith, United Federation of Teachers.
  • Higher Education Member of the Year is Dante Morelli, Faculty Association of Suffolk Community College.

Look for more information on our honorees - including bios and videos - on Friday and Saturday here at nysut.org/ra.