NYSUT Communications
Monday March 28 2022 6:40 PM

RA recognizes NYSUT member excellence

ra honorees

Many NYSUT members have achieved special recognition for their work, both professionally and in their communities. The RA will recognize the following members with awards:

  • “Not for Ourselves Alone:” The Sandy Feldman Outstanding Leadership Award, recognizing lifetime achievement, will be presented to Debra Penny, United Federation of Teachers, and Dawn Sherwood, Hempstead Classroom Teachers Association.
  • The 2022 New York State Teacher of the Year is Carly Santangelo, Cuba- Rushford Teachers Association. 
  • School-Related Professionals (SRP) Members of the Year are Rosemarie Thompson, United Federation of Teachers, and Lois Emerick, North Babylon Paraprofessional/Cafeteria Aide Chapter.
  • Retiree Members of the Year are Veronica O'Connor, Pelham Teachers Association, and Barbara Waldmann, United Federation of Teachers. n
  • Health Care Professionals Members of the Year are Sandra Nin, United Federation of Teachers, and Mary Brooks, Alliance of School Based Health Professionals.
  • Higher Education Members of the Year are Norma Chrisman, Mohawk Valley Community College Professionals Association, and Jean Grassman, Professional Staff Congress/CUNY.
  • Matthew "Dezy" DiStefano, Sachem Central Teachers Association will be honored with the Humanitarian Award.

Delegates will also recognize winners of the Ken Kurzweil Social Justice Recognition Awards and acknowledge this year’s local and individual Community Service Award recipients.

Stay tuned -- more to come.