Testing/Assessments and Learning Standards

Standards and Assessments

Source: NYSUT Research and Educational Services

Frequently Asked Questions

Since the mid-1800s, New York State has been assessing students in schools around the state. The original Regents examinations were given to students in junior and senior high schools. Over the decades the Regents examinations have evolved into end of course assessments of skills and knowledge at the commencement level. More recently the State designed content tests to measure the skills and knowledge of students at the elementary and intermediate levels. The QA Standards and Assessments is intended to help you understand the New York State Assessment Program.

State Education Department Links

As a supplement to the updates and analysis offered in NYSUT Information Bulletins and Bulletin Briefs, we offer these direct links to resources at the New York State Department of Education Web site. Please note that links and content are subject to change.


New York State 3-8 Testing Program

The Arts

Career Development and Occupational Studies

English Language Arts

Health, Physical Education, and Family & Consumer Science

- Physical Education

- Family & Consumer Services

- Health Education

Languages Other Than English

Mathematics, Science and Technology



Technology Education

Social Studies

English Language Learners

Standards & Assessments

Teacher Certification

Higher Education

School Related Professionals


Alphabet Soup - acronym guide