April 09, 2007

Honoring excellence in the professions

Source:  NYSUT Constituency Awards

Added together, their combined years of service total more than two centuries. This year's winners of NYSUT's Constituency Awards have a long track record of service to their local, state and national unions - and the constituencies they serve.

The annual awards for health care professional, higher education, retiree and school-related professional of the year were given out during NYSUT's Representative Assembly April 26-28 in Washington, D.C.

Also among this year's honorees are the recipients of two awards named in honor of former AFT and UFT President Sandy Feldman: the "Not for Ourselves Alone:" Sandy Feldman Outstanding Leadership Award, a lifetime achievement award honoring women who have provided significant service and leadership to their union, and the Sandy Feldman Leadership Grant, which was established to help further the development of emerging women leaders.

Marguerite Izzo of the Malverne Teachers Association was honored as the 2007 Teacher of the Year. The New York State Education Department announced its selection of Izzo last summer.