Additional Teaching Certificates


For certain subjects, SED requires additional and specific certifications. Below are details about some of the most common supplementary and subject-specific certifications:

NYS Certification: Students with Disabilities
Special education certification has undergone many changes in the past 20 years. Prior to 2004, the special education certificate was considered an ‘All Grades’ certificate, or K-12. Individuals with this certificate could fulfill any and all assignments related to special education, including special class assignments. Learn more.

Middle Level Flexibility and Certification in Career and Technical Education
As of the 2018-2019 school year all districts have flexibility in terms of fulfilling the middle level program requirements of a unit of study in Technology Education and the ¾ unit of study in Family & Consumer Sciences. Districts have the option of continuing to fulfill this 1 and ¾ unit of study with FACS and Tech Ed or they can fulfill this requirement by using any of the CTE content areas: technology education, family & consumer sciences, business, health sciences, agriculture, or trade and technical education. Learn more.

Certification in Computer Science
The NYS Board of Regents adopted regulations in March 2018 that created a classroom teaching certificate in computer science and a corresponding tenure area. The regulations designate the computer science certificate as part of the ‘special subjects’ tenure area. The regulations also identified multiple pathways to obtain the computer science certificate that include course work, course work and/or work experience, and a ‘grandfathering’ provision for those teachers currently teaching computer science courses.  Learn more.

Requirements for Supplementary Certificates for Teaching English Language Learners in NYS
Changes to Part 154 of Commissioner's Regulations in 2015 that layout the requirements for the instruction of English Language Learners (ELL) require that the majority of instruction for ELLs be integrated into the content areas, especially English Language Arts. As a result, many ESOL-certified teachers and grade/content-certified teachers are interested in adding either a content area or ESOL certificate to their base certificate(s). Learn more.

Training in Harassment, Bullying and Discrimination Prevention and Intervention
In June 2012, the Legislature enacted Chapter 102 of the Laws of 2012, which amended the Dignity Act to include a requirement that school professionals applying for a certificate or license on or after July 1, 2013 complete training on the social patterns of harassment, bullying and discrimination. Learn more.

Training in the Needs of Students with Autism
Chapter 143 of the Laws of 2006 requires that after September 1, 2009 individuals applying for a teaching certificate as a special education teacher complete course work or training in the area of children with autism. The course work or training must be obtained from an institution or provider which has been approved by the State Education Department to provide such course work or training Learn more.

Supplementary Teaching Certificate
The Supplementary Teaching Certificate allows teachers certified in one classroom teaching area to provide instruction in a different certificate area where there is a demonstrated shortage of qualified teachers, for up to three years, while pursuing the requirements necessary for the new certificate title. Learn more.